Tuesday, October 10, 2017



Val-Kill awards to be presented on Sunday

HYDE PARK – The prestigious Eleanor Roosevelt Val-Kill Awards will be presented on Sunday, October 15 at Val-Kill in Hyde Park.

Seven individuals will be honored for having made significant contributions in areas that were the focus of Mrs. Roosevelt’s life including education, advocacy, social justice, public service and human rights.

The awardees include:

  • Dr. Shirin Ebadi, the first Muslim woman to win a Nobel Peace Prize, a lawyer, human rights activist; first female judge at age 23; tireless campaigner for legal rights of women, children and political prisoners.
  • Randall Robinson, established TransAfrica; is an internationally respected social justice advocate and best-selling author; promoter of progressive US policies toward Africa and the Caribbean; and a passionate anti-Apartheid and human rights activist.
  • Jody Williams, Nobel Peace Prize winner; humanitarian, educator, and political activist, founding coordinator of the International Campaign to Ban Landmines; committed to defending human rights across the globe.
  • Karen Trovato, inventor, researcher, problem solver; advocate for helping young girls become comfortable with technology; committed to innovations that improve healthcare,; inventor of the electronic pill.
  • Michael Dupree and Michael Fleischer, philanthropists, community activists; committed to preserving natural resources of Dutchess County; strengthening their community through leadership and volunteerism.
  • Kathleen Durham, solutionist; igniter of possibilities in people; agent of change for humanity; human rights practitioner; passionate promoter of Eleanor Roosevelt’s legacy; departing executive director of Eleanor Roosevelt Center at Val-Kill.

Past medal award recipients include Hillary Clinton, Leyman Gbowee, Pete Seeger, Diana Nyad, Her Majesty Queen Noor of Jordan, Mother Clara McBride Hale, Harry Belafonte, Robert F. Kennedy, Jr., Norman Vincent Peale, Fred Rogers, Christopher Reeves, Susan Saradon, Marion Wright Edelman, James Earl Jones, and Bill and Judith Moyers, among others.


Copyright © 2017 Mid-Hudson News Network, a division of Statewide News Network, Inc.
This story may not be reproduced in any form, by any media, without express written consent.
This includes rewriting, broadcasting and/or printing of material from MidHudsonNews.com,
by websites, radio and television stations, newspapers or other media



HEAR today's news on MidHudsonRadio.com, the Hudson Valley's only Internet radio news report.